Paincave
Loading your training...
Back to Blog
Equipment10 min read·

The UCI’s New Equipment Rules: Front Pockets Banned, a Bike-Computer Size Cap From 2028, and the Lugano Charter Under Review

In June 2026 the UCI’s Management Committee approved a ban on front jersey pockets and a size limit for bike computers. In September it created a framework for consulting equipment makers and opened a review of the Lugano Charter, a 1996 text that Escape Collective says has guided the UCI’s equipment rules for about three decades.

Below: each decision with its date, scope and stated reasons, read from the UCI’s own releases and rulebook; how today’s computers compare with the cap; and what it means for amateurs. Where the sources are silent, we say “not stated”.

The Decisions at a Glance

In force Decision or publication Still to come
  1. 2–4 Jun 2026

    Management Committee, Desenzano del Garda

    Approves the front-pocket ban, revised equipment sanctions and a bike-computer size limit.

    Source: UCI press release

  2. 8 Jun 2026

    Rule text dated

    Version date of the amendment adding the head-unit limit to article 1.3.006bis.

    Source: UCI Regulations, Part I amendments from 01.01.2028

  3. 1 Jul 2026

    Front pockets banned

    Jersey pockets only on the back (road rules, article 2.2.025bis), except a front pocket solely for a radio. Revised sanctions table in force.

    Source: UCI press release; UCI Regulations, Part II amendments from 01.07.2026

  4. 20–22 Sep 2026

    Management Committee, Montréal

    Creates an industry consultation framework and launches a review of the 1996 Lugano Charter.

    Source: UCI press release

  5. Feb 2027

    Technical Committees rolled out

    After a pilot with track, gravel and wheels committees, the framework covers all committees.

    Source: UCI press release

  6. Feb–Apr 2027

    Lugano Charter consultation

    A draft charter goes to the cycling families and manufacturers; the new charter is due in 2027.

    Source: UCI press release

  7. 1 Jan 2028

    Head-unit size cap

    Head units up to 126 × 71 mm; cases no more than 5 mm larger in any direction; four mount types.

    Source: UCI Regulations, Part I amendments from 01.01.2028

The UCI’s 2026 equipment decisions, oldest first, coloured by status on 26 October 2026. Dates are from the UCI’s releases on its June and September Management Committee meetings and from the amendment documents on its regulations page.

Front Pockets: Banned Since 1 July 2026

The UCI’s release after the 2–4 June meeting in Desenzano del Garda, Italy, puts the rule in one line: the UCI has decided that “jersey pockets must be located exclusively on the rear of the garment.” From 1 July 2026 any pocket on the front of a jersey is prohibited. The one exception is a pocket intended solely to hold a radio communication device.

Why. At the start of 2026, the UCI says, it saw several riders wearing jerseys with internal front pockets holding nutrition. Because those pockets were very hard, or impossible, to reach in race conditions, the food was generally not eaten; instead the pockets changed the riders’ body shape. The UCI cites recently published studies showing an aerodynamic advantage from the practice, without naming them, and gives two reasons to act: the link it sees between aerodynamic gains, higher speeds and more severe crashes, and sporting fairness. Escape Collective notes that front pockets have appeared in time trials for years and that Visma-Lease a Bike has used a two-pocket design since at least the start of 2025.

Scope. The release does not list the disciplines or rider categories the pocket rule covers, and it cites no article number. The rulebook does: the ban is article 2.2.025bis of Part II, the UCI’s road-race regulations, introduced on 1 July 2026 by an amendment dated 8 June 2026. It also says any nutrition, clothing or accessories a rider carries go in those rear pockets, except briefly when race circumstances require it, such as ferrying bottles or a rain jacket from the team car. We found no pocket rule in the track amendments or the cyclo-cross rulebook that took effect on 1 July 2026.

Penalties. A revised table of sanctions for non-compliant equipment applies from the same date. In road, track, mountain bike and cyclo-cross, the UCI says, such breaches can already bring denial of the start, disqualification or relegation, plus a fine; the new entries add fines and sporting penalties aimed at bike accessories and accessories worn by riders. The release gives no amounts. In the road-race sanctions table (article 2.12.007), the new rows for a non-compliant accessory, including one worn by the rider such as a jersey, set a rider fine of CHF 50 to 200 depending on the race level, plus a loss of UCI ranking points, a relegation or a 10-second penalty, and a team fine of CHF 150 to 500 per rider.


Bike Computers: A 126 × 71 mm Limit From 1 January 2028

The June release limits bike computers to 126 × 71 mm from 1 January 2028, a size the UCI says corresponds to the largest products currently on the market. The legal text is an amendment to article 1.3.006bis, the onboard-technology article of the UCI’s Part I rulebook, dated 8 June 2026. It adds three things:

  • The head unit: the maximum dimensions of any head unit may not exceed 126 × 71 mm across length and width.
  • Cases: a protective case or integrated enclosure may not exceed the head unit’s dimensions by more than 5 mm in any direction.
  • Mounts: four mount types are permitted: a standard mount with elastics or clamps, an out-front mount, a mountain bike mount, and a time-trial extension mount (without prejudice to article 1.3.023).

How it is measured. Length and width only. The text sets no limit on depth and does not mention screen size. Neither the release nor the amendment describes how commissaires will check a unit, so the procedure is not stated. In June TOUR’s Kristian Bauer wrote that a commercially available silicone cover would probably reach the permitted limits; the amendment deals with covers separately, through the 5 mm case allowance.

Why. The UCI says several studies have shown that the growing volume of data available to riders during competition can raise their cognitive workload, which it calls a key factor in accidents. The size limit is meant to prevent an excessive increase in race data that could significantly compromise rider safety. The release names none of the studies. The committee also said it wants to engage with stakeholders to understand better how riders interact with the data streams available to them.

Not everyone accepts the reasoning. the5krunner argues that screen size and data volume are not the same thing: the amount of data shown is a software question, and the rule addresses hardware. TOUR also questioned whether the safety argument holds up.

Other parts of the same article are already in force. The current 1.3.006bis bans devices that capture metabolic values such as glucose or lactate in competition, and allows heart rate, body temperature and sweat rate data only through transmission that lets the rider alone see it. The UCI may grant derogations for uses the article does not authorise.

How Today’s Computers Measure Up

Every current unit we checked fits. The tightest is Wahoo’s ELEMNT ACE: Wahoo lists it at 125 × 71 × 20 mm, 1 mm under the cap on length and exactly at it on width. Garmin’s Edge 1050 (118.5 × 60.2 mm) and Edge 1060 (107 × 58.5 mm) leave more room, and the compact units are far inside.

UCI cap, 126 × 71 mm Head unit, to scale

Wahoo ELEMNT ACE

125 × 71 mm

1 / 0 mm to spare

Garmin Edge 1050

118.5 × 60.2 mm

7.5 / 10.8 mm to spare

Garmin Edge 1060

107 × 58.5 mm

19 / 12.5 mm to spare

Hammerhead Karoo

102.8 × 61.7 mm

23.2 / 9.3 mm to spare

Wahoo ELEMNT ROAM 3

96 × 53 mm

30 / 18 mm to spare

Garmin Edge 850 / 550

92.2 × 54.6 mm

33.8 / 16.4 mm to spare

Wahoo ELEMNT BOLT 3

83 × 47 mm

43 / 24 mm to spare

Each computer’s published length and width drawn to scale inside the 126 × 71 mm limit in article 1.3.006bis (from 1 January 2028); “to spare” is length / width margin. Dimensions from Wahoo’s and Hammerhead’s support spec pages and Garmin’s US product pages, read 26 October 2026. The Edge 850 and 550 share one body size.
ComputerL × W × D (mm)ScreenMargin to cap (mm)Spec source
Wahoo ELEMNT ACE125 × 71 × 203.8 in1 / 0Wahoo support
Garmin Edge 1050118.5 × 60.2 × 16.33.5 in7.5 / 10.8Garmin US
Garmin Edge 1060107 × 58.5 × 16.33.5 in19 / 12.5Garmin US
Hammerhead Karoo102.8 × 61.7 × 19.93.2 in23.2 / 9.3Hammerhead support
Wahoo ELEMNT ROAM 396 × 53 × 242.8 in30 / 18Wahoo support
Garmin Edge 850 / 55092.2 × 54.6 × 16.82.7 in33.8 / 16.4Garmin US
Wahoo ELEMNT BOLT 383 × 47 × 242.3 in43 / 24Wahoo support
Published length × width × depth and screen diagonal for each unit, with its length / width margin to the 126 × 71 mm cap. Same makers’ spec pages as the drawing above, read 26 October 2026.

Reports differ on the ACE by a millimetre: TOUR gives it as 125 × 70 mm, and the5krunner described the cap as the ACE’s exact footprint. We use Wahoo’s own figure. What will not fit, by these reports: TOUR says most smartphones exceed the limit, and the5krunner points to the Flitedeck, a handlebar with a 180 × 70 mm screen built into the bar, as a design the cap rules out of competition. For buying advice on the units themselves, see our guide to the best cycling computers.


Montréal: An Industry Consultation Framework and a Lugano Charter Review

At its 20–22 September meeting in Montréal, held during the Road World Championships, the Management Committee created a framework for consulting cycling industry stakeholders on equipment rules. The UCI says the aim is to consult manufacturers and independent experts directly, without intermediaries, taking manufacturers’ interests into account while keeping rider safety the absolute priority.

  • Structure: Technical Committees for three product families: rider equipment, bicycle and data. The UCI’s examples are committees for clothing and for protective equipment, and for wheels and tyres and for frames.
  • Membership: industry representatives, independent experts and the UCI, with equal numbers of UCI and industry seats.
  • Power: the committees’ opinions support the UCI Equipment and New Technologies Commission; every decision still needs Management Committee approval.
  • Timing: after a pilot with committees for track, gravel and wheels, the framework is rolled out to all committees from February 2027.

Escape Collective calls the framework likely a response to the UCI’s defeat earlier in 2026 in the legal case brought by SRAM, which stopped a planned gear-restriction trial and turned partly on the claim that the UCI had not consulted equipment makers. The UCI’s release does not make that link.

The same meeting launched a review of the Lugano Charter, which the UCI describes as a founding text of the values and principles of international cycling, adopted in 1996. Its stated reason: “Thirty years after its adoption, given the evolution of practices, societal issues and safety requirements” a review had become necessary. A draft updated charter will go to a consultation open to the cycling families and to manufacturers from February to April 2027, and the new charter is to be presented in 2027.

What might change is open. BikeRadar reports that the UCI has not proposed any specific changes; it says the charter defined the double-triangle frame and underpins the 6.8 kg minimum bike weight. Both are in today’s rulebook: article 1.3.019 says a bicycle cannot weigh less than 6.8 kg, and article 1.3.020 requires road, track and cyclo-cross frames of a traditional pattern, built around a main triangle.


What It Means if You Race as an Amateur

Some amateur racing runs under UCI rules, and the UCI’s equipment chapter puts the duty on the rider: each licence holder must make sure the equipment they use in events complies with UCI rules. The table shows what the rulebook says for the races amateurs are most likely to enter.

Where you raceWhat the UCI rulebook saysPocket ban and head-unit cap
UCI international-calendar racesLicence holders must ensure the equipment they use in events complies (art. 1.3.001). Sanctions table: road, track, MTB, cyclo-cross.Road races: pocket ban since 1 Jul 2026 (Part II, art. 2.2.025bis). Head-unit cap from 1 Jan 2028 in the general rules (Part I, art. 1.3.006bis), which name no discipline.
UCI Gran Fondo World Series and WorldsOrganised under the UCI road-race rules (art. 15.5.003); the series also has an organiser’s guide with special regulations (art. 15.5.009); Cycling for all, Masters or Elite licence (art. 15.5.001bis); the Worlds need a federation licence and UCI ID (art. 15.5.011).The pocket article is part of the road-race rules these events run under; how either rule will be checked is not stated. TOUR flagged handlebar phones as a possible problem at the Gran Fondo Worlds.
UCI Masters calendar road racesOrganised under the UCI road-race rules, except for race distances (arts. 15.4.004–15.4.006); temporary or day licences allowed (art. 15.4.002).The pocket article is part of the road-race rules these races run under; how either rule will be checked is not stated.
National-calendar racesNational calendars are authorised by each national federation (art. 1.2.001). The road sanctions table (art. 2.12.007) lists national events in its third column.Whether federations apply either rule is not stated in any source we read.
Triathlon and other non-UCI eventsNot covered by any source we read.Not stated.
Scope of the new rules by type of race. Article numbers are from the UCI Regulations Part I (General Organisation) and Part XV (Cycling for all), versions of 1 October 2026, and Part II (Road Races) with its amendments from 1 July 2026; the disciplines of the sanctions tables and the rule dates are from the UCI’s June release; the Gran Fondo comment is TOUR’s (10 June 2026).

In practice:

  • Jerseys: if your road race follows the UCI road-race rules, a jersey with front pockets has been out since 1 July 2026, unless the pocket only holds a radio, and food or clothing you carry belongs in the rear pockets. The UCI’s case against front pockets rests on their aero advantage; for gains that stay within the rules, see our budget aerodynamics guide.
  • Computers: nothing changes before 1 January 2028, and every unit in the chart above already fits. From then, keep any case within 5 mm of the unit and use one of the four permitted mount types. If you use a phone as your head unit, note TOUR’s statement that most smartphones exceed the limit.
  • Bike rules: BikeRadar reports no specific changes proposed in the Lugano review so far. The consultation runs from February to April 2027.
  • Triathletes: none of the sources say whether World Triathlon or IRONMAN will adopt either rule.

For national races, sportives and anything outside the UCI calendar, the sources we read do not say whether either rule is applied. The race’s technical guide or your federation’s rulebook is the place to check.

Track your power data for free

Connect Strava and get your FTP, power zones, CTL/ATL and training load — all in one dashboard.

Start free

Sources

  • UCI (primary): press release on the Management Committee meeting of 2–4 June 2026 in Desenzano del Garda (“The UCI Management Committee reviews the development of cycling in India and modifies provisions governing the participation of Belarusian and Russian athletes in international competitions…”, 5 June 2026); press release “UCI Management Committee met in Montréal and took several key decisions for the 2027 season” (23 September 2026).
  • UCI Regulations (primary): Part I, General Organisation of Cycling as a Sport, version effective 1 October 2026 (articles 1.2.001, 1.3.001, 1.3.006bis, 1.3.019, 1.3.020); Part I amendments to regulations as from 01.01.2028 (version 8 June 2026), article 1.3.006bis, which refers to article 1.3.023; Part II, Road Races, amendments to regulations as from 01.07.2026 (version 8 June 2026; articles 2.2.025bis and 2.12.007) and the consolidated Part II (version 16 October 2026); Part III track amendments as from 01.07.2026 and Part V, Cyclo-cross, version 1 July 2026 (checked for a pocket rule); Part XV, Cycling for All, version effective 1 October 2026 (articles 15.4.002–15.4.006, 15.5.001bis, 15.5.003, 15.5.009, 15.5.011). All from uci.org, read October 2026.
  • Makers’ spec pages (read 26 October 2026): Wahoo support, ELEMNT ACE (2024), ELEMNT ROAM 3 (2025) and ELEMNT BOLT 3 (2025) product information; Garmin US product pages for the Edge 1060, Edge 1050, Edge 850 and Edge 550; Hammerhead support, “Karoo – Hardware Specifications”.
  • Reporting: Kit Nicholson, “No more front pockets and bike computer size limit among UCI rule revisions” (Escape Collective, 7 June 2026); “UCI announces new framework for equipment regulation, will review landmark Lugano Charter” (Escape Collective, 24 September 2026); Ashley Quinlan, “UCI to rewrite the Lugano Charter in review that could reshape future bike design” (BikeRadar, 24 September 2026); Kristian Bauer, “UCI banned list: Jersey bags and large cycling computers are banned” (TOUR, 10 June 2026); the5krunner, “Banned: Large Bike Computers in Competitions from 2028 as Pros Faced with UCI Ban” (6 June 2026, updated 3 October 2026).

Check the UCI’s regulations page for the current text before you race. No affiliate links were used in this article.

Related Articles